Freedom Dance

All of her life, Letty has struggled to fit in. There is the middle-class world of her parents, the white middle-class world of her friends, and the poverty-stricken world of her cousins. Letty’s five years in New York with the Alvin Ailey dance troupe challenged her to grow not just as a dancer, but as an African American, claiming her heritage. Now she couldn’t wait to get this cast off her foot and back to dancing barefoot with Alvin Alley. But an unexpected opportunity may keep her in Michigan.

Will she ever find her place in the world?

Ashley also struggles to find her place. At sixteen, she continues to assert her independence and upset the family dynamics as she challenges beliefs and paves her own path.

Book eight of the Dancing Through Life Series, Freedom Dance is a celebration of freedom—freedom to choose whom we marry, our profession, where we live. Freedom is bought at a price, Letty realizes as she learns about her ancestors, runaway slaves who came to Michigan by way of the Underground Railroad.

Also available through Amazon and other digital stores.

Let’s Stay in Touch!

Sign up for my email list and receive a free copy of Still Dancing along with updates and other offers!
Holler Box